Mission Issues

Thinking and re-thinking missionary issues

COVID-19: Scandinavian Countries – 2020/07/02

When I decided to post some data and a graph or two daily, I decided to use Thursdays for the Scandinavian countries. This was mainly to keep tabs on what is happening in Sweden (where very few regulations were enforced) as compared to Norway, Denmark and Finland, where lockdown was more enforced. As for now, we can still see that Sweden’s infections and deaths are increasing (albeit at a lower rate than previously), while there seems to be almost no new infections or deaths in the other Scandinavian countries. What I did notice was that Sweden, for two weeks running, adjusted the number of infections as well as COVID-related deaths upwards. On Tuesday they had increased the number of infections with almost 2000. Unfortunately I couldn’t find any reason for this upward adjustment. If anyone has more information on this, it would help to understand what is happening there.

Discussions on whether Sweden did the right thing (not to enforce a lockdown), will still continue long after this pandemic has passed, but for now, as far as I can see, the data speaks for itself (unless of course, if the economy weighs so much more than human lives, that the deaths are ignored).

Thursday, July 2, 2020 - Posted by | COVID-19

1 Comment »

  1. […] It’s probably fairly ironic that a year ago I did my first post on the Scandinavian countries (Sweden, Norway, Denmark and Finland), mainly to compare Sweden’s infection and death rates with those of the other countries, as Sweden had chosen for absolute minimum lockdown regulations. With deaths per million in the four countries as follows: Sweden (1,436), Denmark (436), Finland (175) and Norway (145). I think the point was made. Why I find this ironic, was because I decided earlier this week that I am going to remove Sweden from my list of smaller countries, for no other reason than that updates from Sweden are done few and far between and when it is done, invariably there is a huge backlog which needs to be taken into account. So, from this week, I won’t be including Sweden in my reports any longer. If you want to see what I wrote about these four countries a year ago, you can go to the following link:https://missionissues.wordpress.com/…/covid-19…/ […]

    Pingback by COVID-19: (Smaller countries) – 2021/07/01 « Mission Issues | Thursday, July 1, 2021 | Reply


Leave a comment