Mission Issues

Thinking and re-thinking missionary issues

My name is Nqobile

This is a testimony which was given by a learner in my wife’s maths class before the whole school, this past Monday. The girl gave me permission to publish it on my blog.
Good morning fellow teachers and pupils.
There are no hopeless situations. There are only people who have grown hopeless about them and in every storm there’s a story. We all go through storms in life, whether it’s a mental, spiritual or physical storm. There was a girl who like most girls had a happy family, a mother, a father and an adorable baby sister, but at the age of fifteen she was all on her own. ‘How?’ you may ask. When she was seven, her baby sister passed away. At age ten, her mother passed away due to a crack in her skull which resulted from a car accident they’d been in earlier. And just when she thought she couldn’t lose anyone else, her father passed away at age fifteen, due to colon cancer.
At that moment this girl started doubting there was a God, the worst part of it being she was alone in her house and in the world with no one to take care of her. She had family, but when she needed them the most, they were nowhere to be found. Then of course she sought help at social services but came back feeling worse than she had before, after hearing that the only help they could give her was to put her in an orphanage. When they told her this, she cried and one of the social workers told her not to cry because it wasn’t their fault she was an orphan. She was fifteen years old. She had a number of bad options: drugs, alcohol, suicide. But she chose none of the above.
Psalm 34:18: “The Lord is close to the broken-hearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.”
This girl had a name and it meant ‘Conqueror’. Many people may not understand its true meaning. This name means: Overcome, Defeater, To triumph over.
Its at this time where she had no one to talk to and no one to ask help from that she made a prayer asking God why He had taken everything away from her. She thought of all those children around her who often complained about their parents and how they were never satisfied. It was during this storm in her life where she gave her life to God and met Jesus and had a shoulder to cry on, realizing that God had never left her, for in Jeremiah 29:11 it says: “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” She is turning eighteen this year and is strong and truly believes in God.
By the way, my name is Nqobile, but I’m better known as “Q”. My name means ‘Conqueror’, ‘To triumph over’.
Looking back from where I come and everything I’ve been through, I’m standing in front of you today proclaiming that from the impossible it is possible. No matter what you’re going through and how life seems at this moment, God has not left you. He is a mighty God who never fails us, a God of peace and a God of restoration. That was the storm in which I found my story.
Thank you.

Thursday, May 6, 2010 - Posted by | Africa, Death, Disappointments, Hope, Mission, Prayer, Theology

11 Comments »

  1. Arnau,

    Thanks for sharing. Please let “Q” know that she has a brother in America praying for her! Awesome testimony!

    -Wes

    Comment by wlh | Thursday, May 6, 2010 | Reply

  2. Just beautiful!

    Comment by Wendi | Thursday, May 6, 2010 | Reply

  3. Wow, what an incredible testimony !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Comment by Vince Aslett | Friday, May 7, 2010 | Reply

  4. Just read your testimony and it’s really powerfull but i’ll like to know more and you can talk to me via my email : sfarquaad@gmail.com

    Comment by Ntsikelelo Ndlovu | Friday, November 11, 2011 | Reply

  5. Thanks for a clarity on the meaning of my name! And you are such an encouragement to those going through the storms of life, this too shall pass!

    Comment by Nqobile Shabangu | Friday, March 2, 2012 | Reply

    • Sawubona mbhele

      Comment by nqobile | Tuesday, December 30, 2014 | Reply

  6. WOW! I’m Speechless… Thanks for this. Love, Nqobile Dalisu_Zungu

    Comment by Nqobile | Monday, November 5, 2012 | Reply

  7. my name is Nqobile as well and just came across this as im searching for a meaning for my friends name and your story touched me…

    Even though we have parents we never satisfied of how they treat us im in pain today just cause my mom wont appreciate the respect i give her its been months and i havent spoken to her and i go home everyday to be with a person who i dont even know she loves me or not but i still pull through each time…

    have a blessed day

    Comment by Nqobile | Wednesday, June 19, 2013 | Reply

  8. Hi there, I recently lost my mother. Your story spoke to me. BTW: I’m Nqobile Shabangu

    Comment by Nqobile | Thursday, March 6, 2014 | Reply

  9. wow wat a powerfull and hope giving testimony ,you trully inpire me . through god you lived up to the meaning of your name ,or may i say our name.

    Comment by nqobile | Tuesday, May 5, 2015 | Reply

  10. Mmm wat e powerful testimony ‘Q’ n thankx 4 d declaration of my name

    Comment by nqobile | Tuesday, July 21, 2015 | Reply


Leave a comment