Mission Issues

Thinking and re-thinking missionary issues

Our son was officially ordained last night

I can still remember the day, when my oldest son was in Grade 11 and he came into my office and told me that he feels that God is calling him into full-time ministry. I had two reactions. My verbal reaction was to tell him that I’m happy for his decision, but that he still had a year and a half to finish school and that I wanted him to pray and ask God for absolute confirmation that he was doing the right thing. My unspoken reaction was that God must surely have spoken to him, because I couldn’t think that he would willingly choose the same direction that I had gone. I’m the first one to acknowledge that a mission’s ministry is not easy – especially for the family of the missionary. And this was all that my son had ever experienced.
The following year we were visiting my in-laws and while we were there he announced that he was now 100% sure that God was indeed calling him into full-time ministry. The year after he started the tough course necessary to get the required academic qualifications (a six-year course). Before he left for university I tried to think of something which I could say to him as a word of encouragement. And I told him not to make the same mistake I did. When I started my university training, I had mainly one vision in my mind, which was to finish the course so that I could begin my “real” ministry. Fortunately, I had an active student life, involved in many things and was extremely active in our church’s student ministry. But in spite of this, I was still focussed on the end result. And I told him to use his years at university to learn as much as possible, to use every opportunity that came his way to pick up experience, to attend discussions, to meet people from whom he could learn and to see his years at university not only as a means to reach the end result of going into full-time ministry, but to consider the things happening at university as an end in itself. I don’t know whether this made any difference, but I do know that, what I had wished for, came true for him. Much of his experiences was shared on his blog: My Contemplations
After starting work in a congregation in Pretoria during his fifth year as part-time youth pastor, he spent his final year (which is a practical year which needs to be done in one of a number of approved congregations) in the same congregation, working with two excellent colleagues. And then, at the beginning of this year, the church council decided to call him to become a fully ordained minister at their church. Not only that: The church council decided to call three “candidate-ministers” to their congregation: One focussing on youth (my son), one focussing on children at a children’s home and another focussing on women (the last two both being female). And last night these three were ordained as ministers.
It was a proud moment for us as parents. I know we always say that you don’t need to be in full-time ministry in order to do something for the Lord. But we can’t deny that it is wonderful when God does indeed call someone personally into full-time ministry. And when it is your own son or daughter – then it is a great feeling, both proud and humbling at the same time.

Monday, March 23, 2009 - Posted by | Church, Mission, Prayer, Swaziland, Theology

2 Comments »

  1. Congratulation Arnau!!!

    Comment by Vince Aslett | Tuesday, March 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. I mean Congratulations…

    Comment by Vince Aslett | Tuesday, March 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

