Mission Issues

Thinking and re-thinking missionary issues

Why I blog

From time to time it becomes necessary to evaluate the reason behind blogging. This morning it was such a time for myself. I picked up a link that someone had made to my blog. In fact, it was quite humbling to read what he had written. You can have a look at it here.
After reading his post I did have to ask myself why I keep on blogging. I think there’s a number of reasons. Five years ago, after I had turned 45, I was in my car driving somewhere in Swaziland. At that point I had been in the ministry for about 20 years and if my health keeps up, I had another twenty years before me, which means that I was somewhere in the middle of my official ministry. As I was driving along I asked myself what I would do with the rest of my ministry. One of the answers I gave myself was that I would like to give back the knowledge and experience which I have picked up through the years in mission in Swaziland to other Christians. I decided that I would like to write a book which others can read and which would help them in mission. I did start on it, but the problem is that I have little opportunity to sit down and work for days on end. And when I lose my concentration I find it difficult to start working again. When my eldest son, Cobus, started his own blog and he spoke to me about it, I thought that this could be an ideal way for me to discipline myself in regularly writing short pieces which would be available immediately and without the cost and effort involved to try and get a book printed. From the feedback I get I do get the impression that this effort is appreciated. Perhaps one day all (or some) of this could find its way into printed form.
Another answer to the question why I blog, is that the blog itself becomes a kind of diary for myself. I often use the search function built into the blog to find something I had written previously to refresh my mind on things that had happened. When I’m 80 and I want to write my memoirs, that would be a great help 😉
But possibly the greatest meaning for myself is that it forces me to think and re-think mission issues. A few days ago I referred to someone who had written on his blog about Church-Hate. Somehow (I’m not always 100% sure how this works) my own post found its way onto that blog and was posted in full as a comment. Then a number of people responded on that blog to what I had written and this led to a very interesting discussion about the church. And then someone with the name of Justin, responded by asking the question: “What if we are still trying to figure out what it means to be the Church that Christ talked about? The Church that Christ talked about is very different also than the NT church that formed.”That question was actually directed to me and I answered him as follows: “Yes, we are still struggling with the question on what it means. I’m struggling with the question on what it means to be the light of the world in a society (in Swaziland) where at least 40% of the population have HIV or AIDS. I’m struggling to understand how I must communicate love where almost 70% op the population get less than 45 US cents per day! My struggle is not whether I should be a light. My struggle is not whether the church should be a community of love. The struggle is how to do it in our unique circumstances.”
Blogging helps me to think about these issues. How to become practically what Jesus had taught us to be.
Blogging has opened a new world for me. I’d heard about it but never really bothered about it. Thanks Cobus, for introducing me to the world of blogging. I enjoy every minute of it!

Wednesday, June 18, 2008 - Posted by | Church, Home-based Caring, Mission, Swaziland, Theology

3 Comments »

  1. I appreciate your heart on this. I have discovered that blogging gives me an instant voice. You have an important message that needs to be available to the world. Keep up your blogging.

    Let me suggest that you look into the website http://www.lulu.com. I have self-published several family books using their services. You might find it useful in getting your book together.

    Comment by Janice Green | Thursday, June 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. […] true of “missional churches”. As I have so often indicated in the past – the most recent being here – what is often being claimed as a new way of thinking is in actual fact just the old (Biblical) […]

    Pingback by The Missional Church and the Needs of the Community « Mission Issues | Monday, June 23, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hi Janice, thanks for your encouraging message and the link. I was impressed to see that it even received a PC Magazine Editor’s choice award.

    Comment by Arnau van Wyngaard | Wednesday, July 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

