Mission Issues

Thinking and re-thinking missionary issues

What are readers looking for on this blog?

One of the neat things of WordPress, the engine I use for my blog, is the statistics. Some of the things which I regularly follow on the Blog Stats page, are what people are searching for which leads them to this blog, from which blogs people are referred to this blog and which posts are read the most.
Search terms (those that people use in Google) which regularly come up include topics such as “Missions and giving”, “Should all tithes go to the local church”, “David Bosch”, “Glenn Schwarz”, “John Rowell”, “Hands and feet of Christ”, “Missions in Swaziland” and “HIV/AIDS”.
When I started with this blog I was really wondering how effective it would be. To find that quite a number of people get to read the blog because they had landed there by coincidence is quite encouraging.
It is also great to see that other blogs refer to this blog from time to time or have it on their blog roll. Blogs from which people regularly link to my own blog include Chai time, Meditations on the Law, Money Missions, My Contemplations, Greetings from Kyiv and Everyday Christ. Each of these blogs are busy with their own topic, but ultimately we are all doing this because we love the Lord and we love to see God’s Kingdom advancing on earth. Before I started with blogging, I read a book written by Brian Bailey on The Blogging Church. One of the things he wrote and which I took to heart is that bloggers need not be afraid to refer readers to other blogs. I don’t have the book with me, so I’m just writing from memory, but what he said boiled down to the fact that many bloggers selfishly try and keep their readers for themselves and this is actually counter-productive. By unselfishly linking to other blogs, readers become increasingly aware of your own blog. I’ve seen this happen myself when I look at my blog stats and find that someone had linked to my blog from another blog that I have never heard of. In most cases I immediately have a look at that blog myself and very often I add that blog on Bloglines in order to be notified of any updates on that blog.
Lastly and probably the most interesting, is to see the list of posts which the most people read. The nine most read posts over the past 30 days are the following:

  1. Our Experience of Culture Shock
  2. When Charity destroys Dignity – Glenn Schwarz
  3. The Great Commission of Matthew 28
  4. Celebrities involved in AIDS programs
  5. Should all tithings be channelled through the local church
  6. Influence of TV-Evangelists on church in Africa
  7. Connecting to God
  8. The Three-Selves Formula
  9. Demon-possession in Africa

Keeping an eye on the most-read topics will help me in the future to know what to write about. And it is also interesting to see the diverse topics which people are interested in when it comes to missions.
Well, there’s still a lot to write about. I may not post every day during the festive season but then, on the other hand, I really enjoy writing about the topics which I am really passionate about, so chances are that I’ll just continue when I have time.

Friday, December 21, 2007 - Posted by | Mission, Theology

5 Comments »

  1. Yep. I keep an eye on my statistics too. It’s really funny to see what most of my readers end of coming for. In my case, it’s the challah and the braiding video! LOL I guess we all have our own niche, eh?

    Comment by Maya | Friday, December 21, 2007 | Reply

  2. At one point I had a lot of hits on my blog with people doing a Google search for: Sex missionary position! 😉

    Comment by Arnau van Wyngaard | Friday, December 21, 2007 | Reply

  3. I feel so honored to be mentioned on your blog! You manage to always capture my interest by constantly asking questions about the way missions are done, about culture, about the way Christianity is lived out. As a foreign missionary-wannabe (soon to be, God willing) I am always looking to you to get a good picture of missions live and in color!

    Comment by C. P. | Sunday, December 23, 2007 | Reply

  4. C.P, it’s comments like these which make it worthwhile to continue writing. Please keep me posted on your future plans.

    Comment by Arnau van Wyngaard | Sunday, December 23, 2007 | Reply

  5. Thank you for mentioning my blog! I truly am happy to link to yours. Your posts are always interesting and informative and you are willing to share your knowledge. I have been really blessed by reading it!

    Comment by Michelle | Monday, January 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

